Photo by Goran Jevtić

The Fall formed in Manchester in 1976 and has existed ever since. Essentially built around its founder and only constant member, Mark E. Smith. the group’s music has gone through several stylistic changes over the years, but is often characterised by an abrasive guitar‐driven sound and frequent use of repetition, always underpinned by Smith’s distinctive vocals and often cryptic lyrics. The current group – the longest serving lineup in Fall history – is Mark E. Smith, Elena Poulou, David Spurr, Peter Greenway, Keiron Melling and Daren Garratt. After the album ‘Sub-Lingual Tablet’, released last year, they published their 32nd studio album ‘Wise Ol’ Man’ at the Cherry Red Records in February 2016.