For more than twenty years, Ulan Bator, a French-Italian band under the leadership of Amaury Cambuzat, remains of one the key post-rock acts in the world. Ulan Bator was founded by Amaury Cambuzat and Olivier Manchion in Paris in 1993. In the same year, the band has released their self-titled debut with a distinctive fusion of post-rock, krautrock and new wave. In the following years, they continued with new releases and paved their way into fame with their stunning underground live shows first in France and Italy and then in other countries in Europe. The turning point in their musical career was their show at the Roskilde festival in 1996 and a tour with the legendary Faust. The older members of the band then invited Amaury Cambuzat to join them and he remains a standard Faust member up to the present day. A proof of their musical openness and broad views is their 1999 album “D-CONSTRUCTION” consisting of remixed Ulan Bator tracks by various electronic artists: Otomo Yoshihide, Scanner, Erik M and Carl Stone. Their 2001 album “EGO: ECHO”, featuring the legendary Swans member and producer Michel Gira, is also a significant one. Gira is straightforward about Ulan Bator: “One of the best French bands in the last 300 years…”
These old friends of Slovenian stages are back after a few years with a refreshed lineup. This time they will promote their newly released album “En France/En Trance” (May, 2013) which has already been presented on tours in USA. Once more in excellent shape, once more unmistakably good.


  • Ulan Bator (Les Disques Du Soleil Et De L’Acier, 1995)
  • 2 Degrees (Les Disques Du Soleil Et De L’Acier, 1996)
  • Vegetale (Les Disques Du Soleil Et De L’Acier, 1997)
  • Ego:Echo (Young God Records, 2000)
  • D-Construction remixs (Les Disques Du Soleil Et De L’Acier, 2000)
  • OK:KO (Ursula Minor, 2002)
  • Nouvel Air (Les Disques Du Soleil Et De L’Acier, 2003)
  • Rodeo Massacre (Jestrai Records, 2005)
  • Ulaanbaatar (Ruminance, 2007)
  • Tohu-Bohu (Acid Cobra, 2011)
  • En France/En Transe (Acid Cobra, 2013)

Amaury Cambuzat: guitars, vocals
Nathalie Forget: Ondes Martenot, vocals
Diego Vinciarelli: bass guitar, vocals
Luca Andriola: drums, vocals

WEB: Ulan Bator